Home Association President and committees

President and committees

The President

Martin Hirzel became President of Swissmem in January 2021, and has worked in Swiss industry for more than 20 years. He is a member of the Board of Directors of Bucher Industries AG, Dätwyler Holding AG and two privately owned SMEs. He is also a member of the Regional Economic Council of the Swiss National Bank, and chairs the Advisory Board of ZHAW School of Management & Law. He was CEO of Autoneum Holding AG for nine years up to the end of 2019. Prior to this, he managed the market region South America, Middle East & Africa for four years, mainly from its headquarters in São Paulo, Brazil. Between 2000 and 2007 he lived in Shanghai, China, where he was responsible for establishing the local presence of Rieter Holding AG. A native of Zurich, Martin Hirzel started his career by doing a vocational apprenticeship before going on to study business management with a focus on industry and international production at ZHAW. He then completed the GMP at Harvard Business School.

To top

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee comprises the President, Vice Presidents, Treasurer and a maximum of 11 other members.

Eva Jaisli
Vice President of Swissmem
CEO of PB SWISS TOOLS Ltd, Wasen im Emmental

Peter Fischer
Treasurer of Swissmem
Chairman of the Board of Directors, Fischer Reinach AG, Reinach

François Gabella
Vice President of Swissmem
Member of the Board, LEM Holding SA, Fribourg

Dorothee Auwärter
Chair of the Board of Directors
Kuhn Rikon AG, Rikon

Roberto Ballina
Managing Director
Tensol Rail AG, Giornico

Patrick Hess
Member of the Executive Committee
Chief Executive Officer
Schindler Aufzüge AG, Ebikon

Robert Itschner
Member of the Executive Committee
Chief Executive Officer,
ABB Schweiz AG, Baden

Urs Kaufmann
Member of the Executive Committee
Chairman of the Board of Directors,
Schaffner Holding Ltd, Luterbach

Matthias Rebellius
Member of the Executive Committee
Member of the Management Board of Siemens AG, Munich
Chairman of the Board of Directors of Siemens Schweiz AG, Zurich

Martin Sauter
Member of the Executive Committee
Managing director, Sauter Bachmann AG, Netstal

Stefan Scheiber
Member of the Executive Committee
CEO of Bühler Management AG, Uzwil

Marc Schuler
Member of the Executive Committee
Managing Director, DIXI Polytool S.A., Le Locle

Peter Spuhler
Member of the Executive Committe
CEO of Stadler Bussnang AG, Bussnang

To top


The Council is the executive body of Swissmem. The persons represented on it hold management roles in Swissmem member companies.



Urs W. Berner
Urma AG Werkzeugfabrik, Rupperswil / AG

Dominique Beuchat
3D PRECISION SA, Delémont / JU

Jean-Pascal Bobst

Dr. Michael Buscher
Schaltag AG, Effretikon / ZH

Thomas de Martin
De Martin AG, Wängi

Christof Domeisen
Angst+Pfister AG, Zürich / ZH

Jan Doongaji
Hilti Aktiengesellschaft, Schaan / FL

Barend Fruithof
Aebi Schmidt Holding AG, Zürich / ZH

Fritz Gantert
Embru-Werke AG, Rüti / ZH

Thomas Harring
Leica Geosystems AG, Heerbrugg / SG

Claudine Hatebur de Calderón
Hatebur Umformmaschinen AG, Reinach / BL

Michael Hauser
TORNOS S.A., Moutier / BE

Christian Holzgang
Schurter AG, Luzern /  LU

Stephan Keller
V-ZUG AG, Zug / ZG

Norbert Klapper
Rieter Management AG, Winterthur / ZH

Dirk Lambrecht
Dätwyler Holding AG, Altdorf / UR

Jean-Marc Lenz
SR Technics Switzerland Ltd., Zurich-Airport / ZH

Ute Lepple
Scintilla AG, Zuchwil / SO

Gilbert Lile
LNS Sàrl, Orvin / BE

Patrick Marti
Saia-Burgess Controls AG, Murten / FR

Andreas Müller
Georg Fischer AG, Schaffhausen/SH

Bruno Müller
Müller Martini AG, Zofingen / AG

Thomas Nägelin
Fraisa SA, Bellach / SO

Stephan Nell
United Grinding Group Management, Bern / BE

Urs Nussbaum
R. Nussbaum AG, Olten / SO

Robert Reimann
Jakob Müller AG Frick, Frick / AG

Urs Ryffel
Huber+Suhner AG, Werk Pfäffikon, Pfäffikon / ZH

Hans-Christian Schneider
Ammann Schweiz AG, Langenthal / BE

Martin Schumacher
Hitachi ABB Power Grids Switzerland AG, Baden/AG

Lionel Thomas
Constellium Valais SA, Sierre/VS

Franziska A. Tschudi Sauber
Weidmann Holding AG, Rapperswil-Jona / SG

Eric von Ballmoos

Christian Verhoeven
General Electric (Switzerland) GmbH, Baden/AG

Alexander von Witzleben
Arbonia-Gruppe, Arbon ./ TG

Olivier Voumard
Precitrame Machines SA, Tramelan / BE

Matthias Wandfluh
Wandfluh AG, Frutigen / BE

Matthias Weibel
Durrer Spezialmaschinen AG, Immensee / SZ

Stéphane Wettstein
Bombardier Transportation (Switzerland) AG, Zürich / ZH

Lars Wiese
ESTECH Group AG, Seon / AG

Thomas Würsch
CP Pumpen AG, Zofingen / AG

To top

Last update: 16.04.2019